Sealevel Earns National Safety Award

March 18, 2021

[Thibodaux, La; March 18, 2021] — Sealevel Construction achieved a National ABC Safety Merit Award, which was presented at the 31st annual Excellence in Construction Awards ceremony in Grapevine, Texas on March 10.

President of Sealevel Construction Richard Roth said, “We are honored to have received this safety award; it speaks highly of our employees’ commitment to a safe workplace and environment. I would like to especially thank Chris Berger, Head of our Safety Committee, and Jamie Rodrigue, our HSE Manager, who continue to lead our efforts in shaping our safety culture through continuous improvement. We are proud to have them as part of our Sealevel team.”

The 2020 National Safety Excellence Award winners were selected from ABC member firms that achieved Diamond, Platinum and Gold status in ABC’s STEP Safety Management System in 2020.

During the election process, contractors were judged on total recordable incidents, process and program innovation, lost workday case rates, leading indicator use, self-evaluation scores and video interviews conducted by ABC’s National Health and Safety Committee.

“Sealevel Construction is creating the conditions for its people to do their job well in a safe, healthy and mentally fit environment,” said 2021 ABC National Chair of the Board of Directors Steve Klessig, vice president of architecture and engineering, Keller Inc., Kaukauna, Wisconsin. “A culture of both safety and total human health cannot exist without leadership choosing daily to not to compromise on safety, and ABC commends this safety leader in our industry for modeling this belief in every action.”

The National Safety Excellence Awards are presented in three major North American Industry Classification System code categories: NAICS 236 – Construction of Buildings; NAICS 237 – Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction; and NAICS 238 – Specialty Trade Contractors.

Sealevel Construction achieved the National Safety Award in the Heavy and Civil Engineering Construction category.

STEP, the standard for developing world-class safety management systems in construction, is designed to help both large and small contractors evaluate every aspect of their corporate safety and health programs and identify opportunities for improvement.

For a list of all award winners,  click here.

For more information about our safety department, visit:

Find us on LinkedIn